Low Budget Zetec turbo guide

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Low Budget Zetec turbo guide

Postby AndysFatRS on Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:26 am

This is my first attempt at doing a guide but as i am currently attempting a very cheap zetec turbo build i thought i may as well try and make a guide

The Base engine is the 2.0 series 2 zetec out of my written off Si, so luckily there i know the engine is good and strong. First job was to strip the engine completely to check parts for wear, may as well now as a turbo will find any weak spots. So all engine mounts removed, alternator, water pump, power steering pump and brackets removed. Cylinder head removed, sump removed, oil pickup, main caps, crankshaft, rods and pistons all removed so i was down to a bare block.
with the block inspected it was found that there was virtually no wear to the bores ( honing marks still clearly visible despite me having done 10,000 miles with that engine and having not known it had been reworked as it came from a scrappy!) :o :D
almost all the engine was in brand new condition except every shell, main AND big-end were knackered. :-? made no noise though?

I ordered a de-compression plate from Ferriday Engineering
Decomp plate.jpg

ordered some shells as well, picking them up tomorrow £55.
had a look at the piston condition, noticed something strange :-? , but good :D whoever honed it has put some slipper pistons in! as in pistons with a Teflon coating on the skirts to make it Rev-happy!

Picked up some ARP products today from Road&Stage motorsport in Morcambe as i felt these were pretty much a requirement. So i got rod bolts and head bolts

while i am waiting for parts to arrive i cleaned up the Block and painted it in the only colour i though it should be
Rst-green block.jpg
Block