Blacktop Head on Silvertop

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Blacktop Head on Silvertop

Postby daveb666 on Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:54 am

Hi guys, newbie here :D

I'm not a Fiesta owner though; I've got a zetec engined kit-car.

My reason for posting is when I'm Googling for zetec, silvertop, blacktop advice I am constantly sent to this forum. There are some great posts full of information on here so I'm hoping that the lack of a Fiesta in my garage won't prevent my getting help :)

The car:

The engine:

So, the reason for my post;

The engine is a 2.0 silvertop zetec. It was freshly rebuilt prior to being inserted into the car. The insides are standard (as far as I'm aware). It runs GSXr TBs with MBE management and was mapped to 168bhp.

I've been given by a mate that races a G40 Ginetta a 'Ginetta' 1.8 blacktop cylinder head and ginetta-spec cams. The engine in a Ginetta runs 165bhp (blue-printed map). The 1.8 blacktop is standard crate engine aside from the cams, TBs and map.

My plan is to take the 1.8 blacktop head and fit it to my 2.0 silvertop and get it remapped. I'm hoping that the increase in compression, c/w the ginetta-specification camshafts and better flowing blacktop head should give me a fairly nice increase.

I'm aware of the general issue in fitting a blacktop head to a silvertop block in regards to the tensioner and pulleys fouling the water pump. (see attached image - blacktop head on silvertop block). Thankfully the local engineering shop is sorting that out for me at the moment so I'm dis-regarding that problem at the moment.

My query is in relation to compression ratios and headgaskets. I read a post from a few years ago that was discussing the compression ratio that would be had from using different headgaskets on a silvertop and blacktop.

My silvertop block is standard, and the blacktop head is standard and has never been skimmed.